A prayer: Arise, O Lord!

A prayer: Arise, O Lord!

Heavenly Father,

Your Holiness – your glory, your majesty – continues to have me in awe and reverence of who you are.  Thank you for bringing me into a new day – thank you for waking me and giving me a second chance – with every new day our slates are wiped clean.  What happened yesterday stays in yesterday.  Today is new, I am new and I am open to allowing you to move in new ways.  Your ways (movement) cannot be contained in a box or through a formula.  You are constant and consistent in who you are – our loving, giving, forgiving and merciful Father – your grace is like no other.

Yet, when you move – when you touch hearts, reveal yourself to others, break chains, heal us from disease and affliction – when you give us break through – you will do it in a way that only you can do it – and no one way is the same.  It will surprise us – amaze us – and sometimes, we won’t see that you were in it until we have passed out of that season into something new.  It is then through reflection – that we can see your hand is or was all over that situation.  We love and praise you Lord for all that you do – whether we see it in this moment or not.  We praise you.  We give you all the glory and all the praise.

We thank you Lord – we thank you.

Again – we bring and raise up the people of the world to you, oh Lord.  All the people of all nations who are hurting, who are suffering in sickness, in poverty, oppression, domestic violence, addictions and bodies ravaged with disease, lies, corruption and in-justices.  The world in this state, is not the world you intended us to live in.  Since the fall of Adam and Eve – we have come to know evil – and the prince of darkness reigns this world – but I will not give him that glory – for the light you shine through your Son is so much brighter than the darkness that dwells in this world.

On behalf of Eve – I repent – I turn to you, oh God – I turn to you in remorse, to say, I am gravely sorry for the actions of our dear Eve.  I am sorry that she listened to the serpent – who instilled doubt in her mind – forcing her to question – did God really say that?  I am sorry she listened and gave in to temptation and ate from the tree of knowledge.  All the world’s problems stem-back and can be traced back to that one moment… I often wonder how different would the world be if she had listened solely to you Lord and not to the lowly slithering snake.

In this musing, a thought rises above all other thoughts – it needed to happen… You say it needed to happen for you had a plan to send your Son, your light into the world… Until that happened, you didn’t leave us nor forsake us – but showed us how faithful you were to those that were faithful to you –  as you were with Abraham or with Noah in protecting him and his family during the great flood.

Lord, the world is still suffering in the shadows of the fall.  I repent – I turn to you in remorse – I turn to you.  I would say, I repent on their behalf – but that alone will not save those that do not know you – that Lord is your job – you save and add to the church.  My greatest prayer is that you may reveal yourself to those that do not know you and are suffering greatly.  Also, reveal yourself again to those that know you – so their faith may be strengthened and encouraged.  I lift them (all people) up to you – I pray that you may reveal yourself to them – pour out your love, grace, mercy, healing and provision onto them.  May they know your greatness – may they know that all they have comes from you.  May they see how you have been working in their life and calling them to know and trust you.  Dear Jesus, the world – the people of the world are longing for your light, your love and compassion.  I pray that your truth will land in their hearts – plant a mustard seed of truth – and may it grow into the strongest and largest tree of truth – and may you be at the centre of it all – and allow for such growth.   For we cannot do life without you – for you are life – you are our redeemer – you breath life into dry bones.

We thank you Lord for all you do, have done and will do.  Our hearts and lives are yours – may you continue to guide us in how you want us to reach and love others in your mighty and glorious name.

And Lord, I pray for my dear brothers and sisters in Christ – I pray for their protection – continue to protect them – us from the evil one – protect us from the darkness of the world.  Break chains and heal our brokenness. Seal our houses and lives with your divine protection.  In Jesus wonderous name I pray, amen.

Amen.

Arise, O Lord; O God, lift up thine hand: forget not the humble… Awake, why sleepest thou, O Lord?  Arise, cast us not off forever… arise for our help, and redeem us for thy mercy’s sake… (Psalm 10:12, Psalm 44:23, Psalm 44:26 KJV)

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Author: Elizabeth New

Copyright © 2020

All rights reserved.

Leave a comment